Just a Little Painting Progress

Looks like the time has come to keep my promise and reveal some updates of my painting. I am not proud to show it before it’s completion, but it would be nice to walk some of you through the process. People often get curious about what goes into these paintings. Well, the answer is a lot of patience, inhaling toxic fumes, and emotional ups and downs. Is it worth it? Yes, yes, yes.

IMG_1466

At this point in my life I do not own a studio, so the first step for me is changing my entire room around to use my furniture in crafty ways. My mirror becomes a pole for reference images, and my work desk (used for work, and no play) turns into support for palette, white spirit, brushes, rags, and all the other dirty/smelly stuff it must forgive me for.

IMG_9415

I give myself two background options: audio book or music. I have found that these work best, as documentaries, films, etc,. demand much more of my puny attention span. The first sedates me, and the other gives me that boost of energy which in turn makes my strokes less gentle and accurate.

I use a burnt umber for my under painting, as this gives the final colour painting at a later stage more unity and warmth as it registers the tones I will be working with. Once a darker tone is applied there is no going back, so calculated applications of paint are crucial.

IMG_9602

Starting with dark or light doesn’t really matter. It’s all about how one works more comfortably. In my case, I work on both simultaneously (darker areas needing more than one application of paint).

A reoccurring feeling when painting over a number of days is that which constantly goes from a good sense of confidence to a disappointment in how it is looking. The good thing is that I have mastered the recognition of this devil and have learnt to ignore it – keep going.

IMG_1498

Recommendation: easy with those pencil drawings on canvas. If you are smarter than me, don’t use pencil at all – use paint. I am still trying to work on that slowly, but still use pencil when it comes to bigger projects for the time being. When you lay out pencil on canvas, it will mix with your paint and de-saturate your colour in some areas.

Pippa Painting Process

By the way, remember Batman girl? Well this is her in a more serious setting – with her dressing gown reserved for behind the scenes.

IMG_9937

That’s all there is to show for now. The painting will be completed in full colour, so do come back if you like what you see.

I will shortly be posting about other paintings and experiments, and you are invited to come have a look at those too 🙂

Untill next time!

Joanna

 

Leave a Reply

